fbpx Leadership - STCL Houston

STCL Houston Leadership

Welcome from the President and Dean

I am delighted to introduce you to South Texas College of Law Houston, which has educated distinguished attorneys for nearly a century. The law school was founded by leaders of Houston’s legal community in 1923 to offer an exceptional legal education to working professionals. A century later, we attract students from across the country who appreciate South Texas’s welcoming community and commitment to excellence.

STCL Houston is a beacon for students who want a legal education that equips them to be ready to lead… ready to win… and ready to practice law — as public defenders, state Supreme Court justices, big-law litigators, prosecutors, professors, and business leaders. Our more than 16,000 alumni have blazed trails for themselves and served their communities and the legal profession proudly.

I invite you to visit our campus in person or virtually to experience what makes South Texas special. Please also explore more stories online about the law school’s commitment to justice, engaged student population, and highly credentialed faculty.

We invite you to become part of the South Texas legal community. Please take a serious look at what we have to offer. Once you do, I hope you will see that this is where you belong.

Michael F. Barry, J.D.
President and Dean

Michael F. Barry, J.D., President and Dean


Executive Committee Board

Genora Boykins ’85, Board Chair
Counsel (Former Assistant Regional General Counsel)
NRG Energy, Inc.

J. Kenneth Johnson II86, Immediate Past Chair
Martin | Walton Law Firm

Darryl M. Burman ’83Chair of Investment
Former Senior Vice President & General Counsel
Group 1 Automotive, Inc. (Retired)

The Honorable Theresa Chang ’96, Chair of Development
Former Presiding Judge
Harris County Civil Court at Law No 2

Stewart Gagnon74, Chair of Budget & Finance
Retired Partner/Currently of Counsel
Norton Rose Fulbright

Chris Hanslik95, Chair of Strategic Planning

Randy Sorrels87, Chair of Audit
Founding Partner
Sorrels Law

Mike Hays74, ex officio
Michael Hays Law

Board of Directors

Michael Cokinos
President & CEO
Cokinos Energy Corporation

Aparna Dave 02
Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel

Randy Howry ‘85
Founding Partner
Howry, Breen & Herman, LLP

Regina Bynote Jones98
Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, ADM

Mitchell Avila Katine ’85
Partner and Attorney at Law,  Katine Nechman McLaurin LLP

Nick Lanza, Jr. ’89
Managing Partner
Lanza Law Firm

Joseph Lopez78
President & Chairman of the Board
Banker Lopez Gassler

Mike Milich ’97
Senior Executive Vice President
Frost Wealth Advisors

Sharon M. Schweitzer 89
Founder, Access to Culture, Expatriate Relocation Coach, Author, Attorney

Jennifer O’Brien Stogner ’06
Of Counsel, Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Agosto, Aziz & Stogner

Jim Thompson III ’86
Vinson & Elkins

Advisory Directors

Larry Baillargeon ‘74
Formerly Vice President & General Counsel
Swift Energy Company

The Honorable Robert Eckels ‘93
Former Harris County Judge
Of Counsel, Husch Blackwell LLP

Gordon Quan ‘77
Managing Partner & Co-Founder
Quan Law Group

Board of Visitors

Bucky Allshouse ‘75
Attorney, J.D. Bucky Allshouse P.C.

Greg Bopp ‘95
Managing Partner, Bracewell LLP

M. Carter Crow
Partner-in-Charge, Norton Rose Fulbright

Aparna Dave ‘02
Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel, TCEDU (Board of Directors Liaison)

D. Mark DeWalch
Board Member, Black Rock Minerals

Michael Donaldson ‘87
EVP, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, EOG Resources

Judge Jennifer Walker Elrod
Judge, 5th Circuit Court of Appeals

Judge George Hanks
Judge, Southern District of Texas

Regina Jones ‘98
Chief Legal Officer, Baker Hughes

Bill Kroger
Partner, Baker Botts

Billy Murphy ‘06
CEO, University Lands

David Oelman
Partner, Vinson & Elkins

Townes Pressler
CFO, Lime Rock Resources

Sharon Schweitzer ‘89
Cultural Business Consultant, Access to Culture

Scroll to Top
#printfriendly #pf-content svg {min-width: 20px!important;margin-right: 10px;} #pf-content .kb-svg-icon-wrap.kt-svg-icon-list-single svg {min-width: 20px!important;margin-right: 10px;}