Energy Law Negotiation Competition


3rd Annual South Texas College of Law Houston Energy Law Negotiation Competition

South Texas College of Law Houston hosted its third annual Energy Law Negotiation Competition on March 25-26, 2017. The competition provides students with an opportunity to develop their negotiation skills with fact patterns based on current issues in the field of energy law. Students specifically interested in pursuing a career in energy law also have a wonderful opportunity to network with experienced energy lawyers in Houston, the energy capital of the country, during a networking reception sponsored by law firms Haynes & Boone and Gray Reed & McGraw. What makes this competition unique is that every student competitor is guaranteed to be judged by experts in the field.  We have been honored to welcome judges from a variety of energy companies and law firms including but not limited to:

Energy Companies: Anadarko Petroleum Corp., Apache Corporation, BHP Billiton Petroleum, Cantera Energy, Chevron, EP Energy, Fieldwood Energy, GeoSouthern Energy Corporation, Hess Corporation, Occidental Petroleum Corp., Shell, Southwest Energy, Swift Energy,  Talos Energy, Treadstone Energy Partners, ZTC Petro Investments

Law Firms: Andrews Kurth, Baker Botts; Bibby, McWilliams & Kearney; Clennan, Hood & Bieber; Dupuis & Polozola; Garere, Wynne, Sewell; Godwin Lewis; Gray Reed & McGraw; Gordon & Rees; Greenberg Traurig; Haynes & Boone; Hogan Lovells; Jones Day; Jones Gill; King & Spalding; Kirby, Mathews & Walrath; Kirkland & Ellis; Liskow & Lewis; Locke Lord; Reed Smith; Sadler Law Firm; Sanders Willyard; Steptoe & Johnson; Strong Pipkin Bissell & Ledyard; Vinson and Elkins

Thank you to our generous sponsors:


During the 3rd Annual Competition in March 2017, we were delighted to welcome 22 teams representing 14 law schools including Brooklyn Law School, Creighton, Ole Miss, SMU, STCL, St. Mary’s University, Texas A&M,  Texas Southern, Tulane, University of Houston, University of Georgia, University of Oklahoma, University of Wyoming, and William & Mary.

Congratulations to the 2017 finalists!

1st place = University of Georgia
2nd place = University of Georgia
3rd place = Tulane
4th place = SMU
1st and 2nd place teams from University of Georgia.

Competition Documents

2017 Competition Schedule
2017 Competition Rules
2017 Score Sheet
2017 Round 1 Fact Pattern
2017 Round 2 Fact Pattern
2017 Final Round Fact Pattern
2016 Round 1 Fact Pattern

Next year’s competition will be held on March 24-25, 2018. Registration will open this fall.

For additional information, please email Debra Berman at or call 713-646-2997.